Rives & Associates

Tax Relief for South Carolina Severe Storms and Flooding Victims

On October 7, 2015, the IRS announced that affected taxpayers in South Carolina will receive tax relief following the recent disaster declaration for individual assistance issued by the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

The President has declared Charleston, Dorchester, Georgetown, Horry, Lexington, Orangeburg, Richland, and Williamsburg counties a federal disaster area. Individuals who reside or have a business in these counties may qualify for tax relief. Two important forms of relief are the extension of the October 15th filing deadline and the IRS is waiving the failure-to-deposit penalties for employment and excise tax deposits due on or after October 1, as long as the deposit are made by October 16, 2015.

For info: //www.irs.gov/uac/Tax-Relief-for-Victims-of-Severe-Storms-and-Flooding-in-South-Carolina

South Carolina Department of Revenue to Offer Tax Relief

South Carolina taxpayers impacted by severe storms may qualify for tax relief from the South Carolina Department of Revenue (SCDOR).

For info: https://dor.sc.gov/flood-tax-relief?utm_source=SC+Floods&utm_campaign=MyDORWAY+-+Special+Announcement&utm_medium=email